Banana Bread Bottomed Cheescake

Since going AIP, travelling a lot and not really being a dessert person to begin with, dessert recreations are something I have not really pursued, until now with tigernut flour and date puree in hand!!.( The odd banana and cream dish is about the extent of dessert to date).

Recently I stumbled upon a banana bread bottomed cheesecake recipe, you know, the video recipes that float around on facebook and as I watched I realised if I could work out a replacement for sugar and egg I could actually have a chance at recreating a dessert recipe. You see,  I have found a viable flour to substitute for grain flour, tigernut flour, and I have recently made what I think is the perfect AIP sugar replacement, date puree! With a little more research I found the gelatin egg replacement recipe and so, I was set, to give this a crack, and OH MY!!!… The finished creation was absolutely mouth wateringly, delicious beyond words, after such a long dessert drought! (pun intended)

I trialled a mini version of this recipe to test the ingredients (I’ve had disasters before which wastes valuable ingredients) but at the end of the day I wish I had made the full batch!!

Please excuse the scrap book state of the recipe as I have yet to finalise the cheesecake top.

Ingredients

Servings, 10 (or 4 if you inhale it like I did!)

Banana Bread Layer

  • 4 bananas
  • 4 tbsp organic cold pressed coconut oil
  • 1 gelatin egg replacement (I actually just used 1 tbs gelatin in my trial and it worked fine)
  • 1 tbsp organic medjool date puree (at least!! – to taste)
  • 1 1/2 cups organic tigernut flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp AIP baking powder ** (see recipe below as supermarket baking powder is not AIP compliant)
  • 1/4 tsp mineral salt (I’m using australian mineral salts)
  • 1 tsp organic cinnamon
  • 1 tsp organic ginger powder (not in the original recipe but I’m a succer for the sweet ginger powder flavour)

Date and cream topping

1/2 cup of thick pure cream (not thickened cream) Substitute with coconut cream if cream is not reintroduced into your diet yet

1 tsp date puree (to taste)

blackstrap molasses for drizzling

Cheesecake Layer

(This part I am yet to recreate)

(1/2 cup) thick pure cream

1 tbsp date puree

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 cup coconut milk

1 tablespoon gelatin powder

cinnamon, cream and
blackstrap molasses for drizzling

PREPARATION

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. In a large bowl, mash the bananas with a fork.
  3. Add in the oil, gelatin, vanilla, and dates. Stir until combined.
  4. Add in the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Stir until just combined. Don’t over mix.
  5. Pour the banana bread batter into a greased springform pan or flat baking tray and bake for 30-40 minutes or until the top is set.
    Note: In the picture is the banana bread base topped with pure cream, a lovely dob of date puree, a sprinkle of cinnamon and drizzled with blackstrap molasses and is divine like this.
    Optional …
    Mixing the date puree and pure cream together, the result is a thick cream cheese like consistency so I have been inspired to go one step further and try recreating the cream cheese top the next time. My thoughts are as follows, watch this space…This part I am yet to try to recreate (the AIP cheesecake) but my guess is as follows:
  6. In a large bowl, add the cream, date puree (and vanilla). Whisk until combined.
  7. In a small pot on the stove heat the milk until hot and add in the gelatin powder.
  8. Quickly stir until gelatin is dissolved, about 5 minutes.
  9. Pour the gelatin mixture over the “cream cheese” and whisk again until smooth.
  10. Pour the cheesecake mixture over the baked banana bread and cool for 3 hours or overnight.
  11. Pipe on some pure cream, drizzle with blackstrap molasses, sprinkle with cinnamon and enjoy!

https://www.buzzfeed.com/alixtraeger/banana-bread-bottom-cheesecake?utm_term=.pwb1mKLjd#.fvEmM29YN

** AIP Compliant Baking Powder

Serves: 3 TBSP

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons cream of tartar
  • 1 tablespoon baking soda
Instructions
  1. Mix cream of tartar and baking soda together until well combined.
  2. Store in an airtight glass container, away from humidity, up to 6 weeks.
Leave a Reply

